Approaching its 20th year, Anjunadeep has become “one of dance music’s ultimate tastemaker labels” (Billboard). Known for breaking global artists like Ben Böhmer, Lane 8, Tinlicker, and Dusky, the label has a reputation as “an A&R hotbed” (Resident Advisor).

Now, the label launches its new imprint titled ‘Anjunadeep Explorations’ this July. ’The ‘Explorations’ imprint is an evolution of the much-loved Various Artist EP series of the same name, which spanned 25 editions between 2016-2023 on Anjunadeep. Responsible for bringing through now-mainstay acts to the label, such as Ben Böhmer, CRi, Luttrell, Rezident, and Simon Doty, the series has also featured underground talents like Theo Kottis, Sam Goku, and Gacha Bakradze and introduced budding acts like Sinca, Maty Owl and Karyendasoul. The label will focus on unearthing the next generation of electronic music talent and welcoming established acts into the Anjuna roster.

‘The Explorations EP series has been such an important breeding ground for new Anjunadeep talent over the past eight years. Over 25 EPs it has given us a platform to introduce acts like Ben Böhmer, Marsh, Luttrell, and many more who have gone on to become integral members of our label family. With the series now evolving into a dedicated label, I’m excited to keep uncovering new talent and welcoming the future stars of Anjunadeep.’ – Anjunadeep Co-Founder, James Grant

‘Our new Anjunadeep Explorations label is an evolution of the much-loved EP series. Each week, we’ll present music from the next generation of Anjunadeep artists, continue developing the sound of the label, and throw in the odd curveball. We’ve got some amazing music in the pipeline from almost 20 artists, and can’t wait to start sharing it.’ – Anjunadeep Label Director, Dom Donnelly

The label’s first release is a limited-run 12” white label sampler comprising six tracks from artists signed to the label, including Chris Luno and Marley Carroll. Individual digital releases will follow. 

LAR kicks off the compilation with ‘Over & Over,’ a melodic breakbeat cut full of emotion featuring Glaswegian vocalist ALLKNIGHT, whose collaborations include Marsh and Le Youth. Hailing from Nottingham, now based in Sweden, LAR debuted on the label in 2023, featuring on flagship label compilation Anjunadeep 14 with ‘Collide,’ which was also remixed by label-boss James Grant and Anjunadeep stalwart Jody Wisternoff. His upcoming EP, from which ‘Over & Over’ is taken, will mark the first solo release on Anjunadeep for LAR, three years on from his Youtube series titled ‘The Road To Anjunadeep,’ which he got one episode into before signing ‘Collide’ with the label. 

London-based duo Mona Vale returned to Anjunadeep following their 2022 label debut ‘Pieces Of You EP’, the title track of which became a favourite amongst label fans, having debuted on ‘Anjunadeep 13’ that year. Mona Vale has been championed by Annie Mac, Danny Howard, and Jaguar of BBC Radio 1. ‘Give It Time’ features the pair’s own vocals over nostalgic piano and guitar licks. 

Chris Luno returns following his recent label debut on Explorations 23, with a double-single marking the label’s first standalone artist release, in conjunction with the vinyl label sampler. Starting his YouTube mix series in 2019, the Berlin-based artist has amassed over 57M views and 400k subscribers on his channel featuring mixes from all over the world and has been heavily supported by reputable radio stations such as SiriusXM Chill, with over 500 plays across his releases.

Swedish artist Klur makes his Anjunadeep debut on the label sampler with ‘High Above,’ which features evolving and effervescent synths coupled with organic percussive samples and tied together with an intricate depth that is signature to his productions. Klur kicked off his 2024 with a strong start, supporting PRAANA on their North America live tour, with 11 dates across Seattle, Vancouver, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Phoenix, Denver, Austin, Toronto, Montreal, New York, and Cambridge. 

In the spirit of the new ‘Explorations’ imprint, Marley Carroll makes another label debut with ‘One More Year,’ ahead of a three-track EP of the same name to be released in August. The Nashville-based artist is an award-winning turntablist who has played at festivals such as Coachella and Moogfest, as well as more recently self-releasing his ‘Voices EP’ on vinyl, picking up support from BBC Radio 1, BBC Radio 6, KCRW, and KEXP. 

Rounding off the sampler, Russian artist Omfeel is a classically trained pianist who has released a solo EP on downtempo sister label Reflections. Her label debut, ‘Dancing Ego,’ featured on the flagship label compilation Anjunadeep 14 in 2023. ‘Flying The Moment’ re-contextualizes her evocative piano prowess in a bright, deep house cut layered with birdsong samples and lush strings. Stations, including BBC Radio 1 and SiriusXM Chill, have supported her music.

In the coming months, Explorations will release music from rising stars, including Chris Luno, Klur, LAR, Mona Vale, Omfeel, Parallel Voices, Marley Carroll, Boxer, Into The Ether, Maty Owl, Tagavaka, and GHEIST

Stream / Download here

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Source link