Dusky, the electronic music duo, announced the 10th-anniversary celebration of their record label, 17 Steps. To mark this significant milestone, Dusky will release a special Various Artists (VA) compilation, offering a glimpse into the label’s evolution over the past decade. Alongside the release, the duo will embark on a UK/EU/US tour, bringing their sound to fans across the globe.

Scheduled for release on February 9th, “Sampler 01: Floor To Floor 10 Years of 17 Steps” serves as a prelude to the full compilation, set to drop in April. The sampler features tracks from a diverse range of artists, including Scaefa, Machine Dion, Kassian, and Dusky themselves. The selection provides a sonic journey, showcasing the label’s commitment to pushing the boundaries of underground house and techno.

Founded in 2014, 17 Steps emerged as a platform for Dusky to release their own music while championing like-minded artists, both established and emerging. The label’s name is inspired by “the monomyth,” a narrative theory encompassing 17 stages or steps in a hero’s journey. Over the past decade, 17 Steps has become synonymous with innovative electronic music, earning recognition for its diverse roster and unwavering commitment to quality. With solid releases across the spectrum of the electronic world – from artists including Nathan Micay, Denham Audio, Skream, Velvit (aka dBridge), Mella Dee, Eris Drew, Logic1000, Alan Fitzpatrick, El-B, Interplanetary Criminal, Fort Romeau, Rainy Milo, KETTAMA, Hammer, Trevino, Jamie Jones, Shed and LTJ Bukem amongst others – the label continues to go from strength to strength as it enters its 10th year. 

Reflecting on a decade of 17 Steps, Dusky expressed pride in the label’s journey, emphasizing its role in supporting emerging talent. The anniversary compilation is a celebration of the label’s past and a look forward to its promising future, with a commitment to exploring new sounds while preserving its unique identity.

The compilation features a stellar lineup of artists, carefully chosen for their resonance with the label’s musical identity. Notable contributors include AIDA, Aldonna, Ikonika, MNL, Roska, and more, representing a diverse spectrum of electronic music styles. Dusky shared their excitement about the first sampler, describing it as a musical appetizer that sets the tone for the upcoming compilation. The tracks on Sampler 01, all brand-new productions, showcase the label’s dedication to underground music. 

Dusky will celebrate its label’s anniversary with an extensive tour, spanning key cities in the UK, Europe, and the US. The tour kicks off on January 27th in Brighton, UK, and includes notable stops in Berlin, London, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, and Brooklyn.

1 – Dusky – Proto Spoon
2 – Machine Dion – Take Me
3 – Kassian – 157 FM
4 – Scaefa – Celestial

Pre-order here



Jan 27 – Patterns, Brighton UK

Feb 23 – Culture Box, Copenhagen DEN

Mar 2 – Watergate, Berlin DE

Mar 9 – Joshua Brooks, Manchester UK

Mar 16 – Clock Factory, Bristol UK

Apr 6 – Laverys, Belfast UK

Apr 12 –  fabric, London UK


Mar 23 – Sound, LA USA

Mar 24 – Bergerac, SF USA

Mar 29 – PRYSM, Chicago USA

Mar 30 – Elsewhere, Brooklyn USA

Source link