Electronic music duo, Dusky, proudly announce the 10th year anniversary of their revered record label, 17 Steps. To mark this significant milestone, they are set to release a special Various Artists compilation and embark on an extensive UK/EU/US tour. The announcement kicks off with the release of “Sampler 01: Floor To Floor 10 Years of 17 Steps” featuring tracks from Scaefa, Machine Dion, Kassian, and Dusky.

“Sampler 01” offers a glimpse into the label’s evolution over the past decade. This prelude to the full compilation promises to be a sonic journey, showcasing 17 Steps’ commitment to pushing the boundaries of underground house and techno. Each artist featured on the sampler brings a unique flair, contributing to the diverse and innovative sound that has become synonymous with the label.

Scaefa, a producer/DJ based between Reading and Oxford, brings emotionally stirring breaks, techno, trance, and beyond to the compilation. His tracks have gained recognition from DJ Mag, BBC Radio One, Rinse FM, and more, with support from industry heavyweights like Laurent Garnier, Four Tet, Dusky, and Avalon Emerson.

Machine Dion, hailing from north London, draws inspiration from the UK underground scene, crafting a unique sound by blending electro, broken beat techno, industrial, and 80s synthpop. His contribution adds a distinct flavour to the sampler, embodying the label’s commitment to diversity.

Kassian, launching in 2019, has evolved its sound from groove-laden House to leftfield threads of Techno and UK Bass. Their label Faux Poly, launched in 2022, has received high praise and support, with weekly residencies on Rinse FM showcasing their depth of knowledge and eclecticism in dance music. With tracks played by Ben UFO, Four Tet, Floating Points, and more, Kassian’s impact on the electronic music scene is undeniable.

Reflecting on a decade of 17 Steps, Dusky expressed pride in the label’s journey, emphasizing its role in supporting emerging talent. The anniversary compilation is a celebration of the label’s past and a look forward to its promising future, with a commitment to exploring new sounds while preserving its unique identity.

Dusky are a pioneering electronic music duo, and 17 Steps is their acclaimed record label founded in 2014. Over the past decade, 17 Steps has become synonymous with innovative electronic music, consistently pushing boundaries and supporting emerging talent. The label’s diverse roster includes artists like Nathan Micay, Denham Audio, Skream, Mella Dee, Eris Drew, Logic1000, Alan Fitzpatrick, and more. The forthcoming full compilation features an impressive lineup of artists including AIDA, Aldonna, Ikonika, MNL., Roska, and more, representing a diverse spectrum of electronic music styles. Dusky invites fans to join the celebration on their extensive global tour including key stops in Berlin, London, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, and Brooklyn. The tour promises to be a sonic exploration of the label’s legacy and the future of electronic music.

Stream / Download here

1 – Dusky – Proto Spoon
2 – Machine Dion – Take Me
3 – Kassian – 157 FM
4 – Scaefa – Celestial

Source link