Tourist, aka producer William Phillips, has announced the forthcoming release of new album Inside Out, which lands on 20 May on his own Monday Records imprint.

The ten-track album, his fourth, has been preceded by new single Your Love – the British producer’s first release for two years.

Backed by an emotive video directed by Duncan Loudon – who has worked with the likes of BADBADNOTGOOD, Skepta and Mount Kimbie – the track blends both euphoric and melancholic elements; a trend that echoes the overall theme of the album, which was written in response to the sudden loss of a close friend during the pandemic.

“It was never a record I had imagined I would write, nor one I would want to again,” Tourist commented. “But the process of creating these tracks was my attempt to make music that comforted me and explored the gamut of emotions one experiences after losing someone.

“Being unable to see others in the aftermath meant that writing music was a healthy way to occupy myself, and as soon as I felt like the record was in tribute to this person – the album really just wrote itself.”

Produced largely during lockdown, the album sees Tourist sampling a wide range of influential artists – everyone from The Mamas and the Papas to The Durutti Column – marking a different production approach for him.

“Amongst all of this, it was still important to me that if someone listened to the music with no understanding of what the record is about – it might speak to them purely on a sonic and musical level,” he added.

“My aim wasn’t to write a murky, heavy album to express these themes, but one that felt both euphoric, celebratory and melancholic all at once.”

Aside from his own productions, Tourist is an avid remixer, putting out reworks of artists including Christine and The Queens, Wolf Alice, Deftones, CHVRCHES, Sophia Koutesis, Swedish House Mafia and The Weeknd. He also recently won. Grammy for his co-written track with Sam Smith, Stay With Me.

Tourist ‘Inside Out’ is released on 20 May. The album is backed by a mobile-web experience developed by LANDMRK, in which fans can unlock exclusive content. For more information, visit


01 – Speak In Symphony
02 – Your Love
03 – Avalanche
04 – With You
05 – A Dedication
06 – April
07 – We Thought You Were Sleeping
08 – Lark
09 – Silent Letter
10 – Eternal

Source link