Drum ‘n’ bass pioneer Goldie and engineer and producer James Davidson’s Subjective project has released its long-awaited album, The Start of No Regret, on Three Six Zero Recordings/Sony Music.

The album sees the duo blend modern electronic aesthetics with 90s era motifs – mixing genres such as drum & bass, acid house, rave, jazz, and more across 14 tracks.

The launch of the album follows on from the release of no less than six singles, the most recent of which was American Gods, featuring Natalie Duncan.

“We’re both extremely proud of this album and all of the artists we collaborated with to make it. It captures our past, present and future and we’re excited to finally share it,” Davidson commented.

The Subjective project had its origins in Goldie and Davidson sharing the same lineup of a festival in Sardinia in 2012 – where they two connected and began speaking about Davidson releasing on Goldie’s imprint Metalheadz (2014’s The Fourth Wall).

The pair began writing and recording together as Subjective in 2019, releasing the Act One – Music for Inanimate Objects long player in 2019. Following on from that, a meeting between Goldie and Pete Tong to mark the 25th anniversary of the former’s Timeless album laid the foundations for the release of The Start of No Regret on Tong’s ThreeSixZero Recordings label.

The album is also reflective of the duo’s geographical locations over the past 18 months, bouncing ideas between Davidson’s studio in Bournemouth on the south coast and Goldie’s house in Phuket, Thailand.

The Start of No Regret is available on all digital platforms, as well as CD and double vinyl. More information here.


1 – The Start of No Regret
2 – Lost feat. Tom Misch and Frida Touray
3 – Brushstrokes feat. Cleveland Watkiss
4 – Dessai Menace (The Virgil)
5 – American Gods feat. Natalie Duncan
6 – Azimuth
7 – Crazy feat. Natalie Williams
8 – Breakout feat. LaMeduza
9 – Paradise feat. LaMeduza
10 – Dark feat. Greentea Peng
11 – Reflection
12 – Sunlight feat. Lady Blackbird

Source link