Matt Cutler, better known as Lone, will release a new album in October.

Always Inside Your Head is the British artist’s eighth album, and the first in five years. It marks two major changes, with both a new label, Greco-Roman, and new approach; it features vocals for the first time, courtesy of Morgane Diet.

We’re told that the album exists “somewhere between trip-hop, ’90s Warp, intelligent drum & bass, and ambient house.” A varied selection of music influenced the record, but the two main influences were Cocteau Twins and My Bloody Valentine. “I wanted to approach a range of different styles, but attack them from their angle in a way, so for example on ‘Inlove2’ I tried to imagine what a Balearic / acid house tune might sound like if it were produced by Kevin Shields”, Cutler tells XLR8R.

Although the album is rooted in club culture, Cutler leans towards a song-based sound, with several tracks edging towards the same crossover space as the ’90s hits which also inspired him, particularly William Orbit’s production on Madonna’s “Frozen” and Olive’s “You’re Not Alone.”

Lone’s last studio album came in 2016 with Levitate on R&S Records.


01. Hidden By Horizons feat. Morgane Diet
02. Realise
03. Echo Paths
04. Visited By Astronauts
05. Inlove2
06. Mouth Of God
07. Akoya feat. Morgane Diet
08. Tree For Tree
09. Undaunted
10. Coming Into Being and Passing Away

Always Inside Your Head LP is scheduled for October 1 release. Meanwhile, you can stream “Hidden By Horizons” feat. Morgane Diet in full below and pre-order here.

Source link