Photo: Adrian Davies

W. H. Lung, the Manchester group formed of Joseph Evans (vocals), Tom Sharkett (guitar), and Tom P (bass), will release their second album on Melodic Records.

Vanities is the group’s first release since 2019’s Symmetry, a vivacious concoction of krautrock, synth-pop, and shimmering, infectious grooves. We’re told to expect a “bold electronic leap forward” into the dance music they’ve missed and a record that is “direct, punchy, and potent.”

“We wanted to move away from easing people in and grab them by the heart straight away,” Evans tells XLR8R. “I reflected on how we played live shows and romanticised about launching onto the stage in a bundle of energy and starting the party, no messing. We were writing music that affirmed how much we missed dancing in sweaty rooms, enjoying the company of a collection of beautiful friendly strangers.”

Alongside today’s announcement, the group has shared lead single “Pearl in the Palm,” which Evans describes as a transition from the old W. H. Lung to new. It marries pulsing synths, galloping drums, and a vocal take that is both caramel smooth but also fervently intense. Directed by Evans himself, the video was shot in January across the beauty of the Irish midlands.

W.H. Lung’s journey goes back to 2017 when they released the seven-minute track “Inspiration,” which paved the way for Symmetry on Incidental Music. Their name is taken from a Chinese supermarket.


01. Calm Down
02. Gd Tym
03. Pearl In The Palm
04. Ways Of Seeing
05. ARPi
06. Showstopper
07. Figure With Flowers
08. Somebody Like
09. Kaya

Vanities LP is scheduled for September 3 release. Meanwhile, you can stream “Pearl In The Palm” in full below and pre-order here.

Source link