The 14 track second album from the duo, Goldie and James Davidson blend present-day electronic aesthetics with 90s house-laden motifs to create an album that sits perfectly across multiple decades. Through employing a diverse landscape of genres, including drum & bass, acid house, rave, jazz, and more, Goldie and Davidson capture the sound of multiple generations, in turn compiling a timeless piece of work that embraces underground culture and resonates with niche and wider audiences alike.

The first embers of Subjective flickered in Sardinia in 2012. Both were playing a festival on the island, where they two connected and began speaking about Davidson releasing on Goldie’s label imprint Metalheadz. Goldie greenlit an album by Davidson who recorded as Ulterior Motive at the time.

The result, 2014’s The Fourth Wall, impressed the label boss so much so, that he asked Davidson to engineer a couple of his own tunes. That led to a track together, ‘I Adore You’, which in turn led to James flying to Goldie’s home in Thailand to produce 2017’s The Journey Man, an album Goldie would describe at the time as his “magnum opus”.

The pair began writing and recording together as SUBJECTIVE in late 2019, and released their debut album ‘ACT ONE: MUSIC FOR INANIMATE OBJECTS’. Goldie reconnected with Pete Tong in 2020 to celebrate the 25 anniversary of his seminal album ‘TIMELESS’, the landmark 1995 debut that Tong signed to his label FFRR. After hearing a few of the new tracks Goldie and Davidson were working on, Pete put his A&R hat on bringing what would become THE START OF NO REGRET into the fold at his ThreeSixZero Recordings label.

On the album, James commented, “We’re both extremely proud of this album and all of the artists we collaborated with to make it. It captures our past, present and future and we’re excited to finally share it.”

‘THE START Of NO REGRET’ boasts a gallery of top-flite vocal collaborators, it’s the sound of the duo bouncing brilliant ideas between Davidson’s studio in Bournemouth and Goldie’s gaff in Phuket. It’s also the sound of two top-of-their-game songwriters and electronic maestros responding to 18 moody months with life-affirming adventure, resulting in a musical project that’s Goldie’s most collaborative venture yet.

Photo credit: Ollie Grove

The album features some incredibly exciting and varied names including nu-jazz staple Tom Misch on ‘LOST’ (A-listed by BBC 6Music), south London up-and-comer Greentea Peng on ‘DARK’ and American jazz & soul vocalist Lady Blackbird on ‘SUNLIGHT’; showing off both the rich history and calibre of Goldie and James Davidson’s individually but also how they can create something together that’s so cohesive and forward-thinking. On ‘AMERICAN GODS’, Goldie and James Davidson utilise present-day downtempo aesthetics and fuse them together with the 90s house-laden vocals of Natalie Duncan, while ‘BREAKOUT’, leads with a bouncing rave piano line and pulls in mesmerising vocals from soul singer LaMeduza.

The lead single from the album ‘DASSAI MENACE (THE VIRGIL)’ (released with double A-side ‘FATHOMS’) was picked up by Virgil Abloh. He used it to soundtrack his Louis Vuitton SS22 fashion film ‘Amen Break’ (watch here), with Goldie walking in the accompanying catwalk show. Goldie has also just finished a residency throughout February on BBC Radio 1 alongside the likes of world-renowned DJs Sama’ Abdulhadi, Folamour, Or:la, LCY and Scratcha DVA.

‘The Start of No Regret’ is available on all digital platforms, as well as CD and double vinyl.

Full tracklist for ‘The Start of No Regret’:
1. The Start of No Regret
2. Lost feat. Tom Misch and Frida Touray
3. Brushstrokes feat. Cleveland Watkiss
4. Dessai Menace (The Virgil)
5. American Gods feat. Natalie Duncan
6. Azimuth
7. Crazy feat. Natalie Williams
8. Breakout feat. LaMeduza
9. Paradise feat. LaMeduza
10. Dark feat. Greentea Peng
11. Reflection
12. Sunlight feat. Lady Blackbird


Source link